We are excited to announce the 2018 incoming residents for our residency training programs.

Medical students matched in three programs on March 23 as part of “Match Day”: Family Medicine Rural Training Track, Emergency Medicine, and Psychiatry (a joint program with Hennepin County Medical Center).

The matches were announced by the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP). On match day (third Friday in March each year) thousands of medical students and graduates from the US and around the world are notified about the residency programs they will train in for the next 3-7 years. Applicants for the NRMP Main Residency Match usually begin the application process in the summer, and programs review applications and invite chosen candidates for interviews from October to February. After the interview, applicants submit a rank-order list to the NRMP of the programs where they want to train.

Similarly, residency programs submit a rank-order list of applicants they prefer to train. The two parties’ rank order lists are processed using the NRMP’s matching algorithm, which matches applicants and programs. There is a great deal of anticipation and excitement for the students who participate in Match Day ceremonies and open their Match letters in the company of family, friends, and advisors.

This year, the HealthPartners Western Wisconsin Rural Family Medicine Residency Program welcomed its first class of residents. The residency was created with the support of a grant from the Wisconsin Department of Human Services and is accredited through the HealthPartners Institute.

Foot and Ankle Surgery also matched this month, and Medical Toxicology and Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship programs match this fall. Occupational Medicine selects residents outside of the Match.

Join us in extending a warm welcome to all the incoming residents.

Family Medicine Rural Residency Class of 2021

Catherine Kress, DO

Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Jessica Miller, MD

American International School of Medicine

Family Medicine Residency Class of 2021 (Methodist)

Kathryn Chamberlain, MD

University of Minnesota Medical School Duluth

Nicole Noyes, MD

University of Minnesota Medical School Duluth

Christine Prill, MD

Medical College of Wisconsin

Jessica Sawinski, DO

A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine

Margaret Schwartz, MD

Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

Nathaniel Schwartz, MD

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Hennepin-Regions Psychiatry Training Program Class of 2018-2019

Lindsay Fox

American University of the Caribbean

Benjamin Harbst

University of Minnesota Medical School

Anum Khan

Ross University School of Medicine

Supra Khare

University of Kentucky College of Medicine

Rachel Kuntz

Creighton University School of Medicine

Susan Metzger

University of Minnesota Medical School

Lauren Sevcik

Creighton University School of Medicine

Vanessa Stumpf

University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences

Vanessa Baca

University of Minnesota Diagnostic Radiology Residency Program

Peter Mayer

A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine

Regions Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency Class of 2021:

Jacob Binder

Wayne State University

Michael DeBoer

University of Wisconsin

Andrew Hasebroock

Creighton University

Ryan Johnsen

Albany Medical College

Karl LaFleur

University of Minnesota

Tracy Marko, PhD

University of Minnesota

Melanie Mercer
Medical College of Wisconsin

Alan Okada, PhD
University of Southern California

Broc Schindler

Eastern Virginia Medical School

Bradley Stroik

University of Wisconsin

Selina Sturman

Texas A&M

Occupational Medicine

Manoj Doss, DO

University of Delaware

Maria Starchook-Moore, MD

Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN

Foot and Ankle Surgery Residency

Collin Messerly

College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery at Des Moines University

Abimbola Johnson

Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science

Tyler Sorensen

College of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery at Des Moines University

Leave a Reply